Random Thoughts


When I woke up this morning, I decided today was a day to blog. So my brain started to wander – what should I blog about? After a couple of hours of ideas bouncing around in my head, I still couldn’t decide. My thoughts are bouncing from one thing to another today. So, I decided to just give you my random thoughts, and maybe what made me think about them.

First, on my way to the store, I looked out at my favorite site, the St. Clair River. Covered with chunks of ice, and looking like it was flowing backwards, I thought about the beautiful scenery I have to look at every single day, and wondered how many of my out-of-town customers don’t even know about the beautiful area they visit when they visit my store.

Another random thought: some of my customers have said things to Nina that lead me to believe they think I’m ignoring them. That isn’t true. Running any business requires many hours of work behind the scenes. Putting classes together, writing lesson plans, making samples, ordering and receiving product, marketing, keeping up with trends, book work, taxes, payroll, preparing for trade shows, looking for new, creative ways to bring customers in the door — all these things take many, many hours each week. I am, thankfully, able to pay Nina, Kathy, and sometimes Sandy, to handle the sales floor so I have more time to concentrate on all these other things – things that are necessary to keep the doors of River Place Quilt & Sew open. So, if I’m “not available,” it doesn’t mean I don’t want to see you. It means I am working on another great idea that will help you and help River Place.

My Mom is going to Phoenix tomorrow, to visit my brother. She’s excited to get out of this cold, snowy weather and into the sunshine. I told my brother he’d better take very good care of her – or else!!

Before my Mom gets back, I will be taking the vacation my children and husband gave me for Christmas. I’ll by flying to California to spend a week with my daughter, and she and I will be taking a four-day Baja California cruise. I’m pretty excited about it. No, I’m REALLY excited about it. My first cruise. A week with my daughter. A vacation. All in one.

I never seem to have a clean desk. I never get to the bottom of the piles. I really need a secretary. I was a pretty good secretary, back in the day. I wish I could have somebody like I WAS to work for me now. It would be awesome.

I must have put my phone on the charger upside down last night, because it didn’t charge.

We have brought in so many beautiful new fabrics. If you haven’t been in to see them, you should come in. Soon. One bolt sold out — completely — before we had it on the floor a whole week. Why didn’t I know that fabric would be so popular? I could have ordered more bolts! If I had ordered more, would it have sat in the store, unloved, for a year? Sure wish I had a crystal ball so I could see which ones you’ll love, and which ones you won’t.

Our Margaret Money has been quite popular. If you haven’t started collecting it, you can start any time. We will auction a sewing machine at our auction this year. The value of that machine depends on how much Margaret Money we give out. At this point, we have given enough “MM”s to auction a machine valued at $699. This means somebody will take home a Janome sewing machine. You need Margaret Money to bid on the machine, and on the other items we will auction.

Missy has been well-behaved lately. No “bad Missy” stories to tell. Just “cute” ones.

My son and his fiancée are coming to visit this weekend. Can’t wait!

Every season of the year is beautiful to me. I don’t mind our current weather as much as I do mind the very hot, humid weather.

I wish I knew what possessed me to decide to offer Margaret Money wallets to customers who collected ten or more monies.

I’m looking forward to being able to spend time on my front porch again.

Social media has helped my business tremendously, but it takes a lot of time.

I want to plan an all-day “retreat” for my customers.

I bet the snow plow people made a nice amount of money this year. I hope so. They’ve had some dry years, and this might have made up for them.

I like Maxwell House House Blend coffee. My husband bought Colombian. I don’t like it very much.

Sometimes I drive myself crazy. I must drive others crazy, too.

So far, 2014 has been good to River Place Quilt & Sew.

It’s Lent. I remember working every Fish Fry, every Friday night, at St. Mary’s in St. Clair. It was fun, and I miss those days.

My neighbor cleaned out our driveway many times this winter. We are grateful. He’s a wonderful neighbor and friend.

I’ll be at the Home, Sport & Garden Show next weekend at McMorran in Port Huron. Janome specials available there.

I’m vending more shows this year. It will be a busy, busy year.

I need to get to work. Have a wonderful day!

5 responses to “Random Thoughts

  1. Kris Dombrowski

    Margaret, I’m glad I’m not the only one with a wandering mind! Mine is always in a hundred places too. I “get” it about customers wanting your attention. MIne think I’m the onlyone who can answer theirquestions. Plus it kills me when they say they stopped in and I wasn’t there, you’re never there they say. Drives me nuts – I feel like I amALWAYS at work! Have a good vacation! Kris Dombrowski

  2. LOL, Kris. We ARE always at work – even when we’re away, we’re still working. Crazy, isn’t it?

  3. Bonnie Johnson

    I’ll bet Missy will miss Mom and vice versa!

  4. Missy WILL miss Mom. Mom WILL miss Missy. She wants to take Missy on her trip …

  5. Magnificent goods from you, man. I have remember your stuff prior to and you are simply extremely great.
    I really like what you have acquired right
    here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way wherein you assert it.
    You’re making it entertaining and you continue to take care of to keep it wise.
    I cant wait to learn far more from you. This
    is actually a tremendous site.

Leave a Reply

