Merry, Merry Christmas, and Happy 2014!!


I knew it had been a long time since I blogged; I didn’t know I last blogged in April, 2013. One of my goals for 2014 is to get back to blogging. This first post is, I hope, a strong start to a successful meeting of the goals.

We had an eventful year at River Place Quilt & Sew, and so many of you were part of so many events. As a review, in January of 2013, we issued several challenges, including a UFO challenge and a sewing room challenge. The sewing room challenge fell flat, but we had several participants in the UFO challenge. We met at the end of the year to share our finished projects, and had a great time!

We also started closing on Mondays last January. I know the benefits and challenges this change has meant to us at River Place, and to me, personally, but I  wonder how that has affected each of you. If you have a minute, send me an email with your thoughts.

In March, I closed the store for ten days and went on vacation. It was a wonderful get-away, and I came back refreshed and ready to go. We participated in the Home, Sport & Garden Show at McMorran in March, and it was a good show for us.

In April, we participated in the Quilt Expo in Elkton, Michigan. This was a first-time show and was a huge success. We plan to be there again this year!

Nina came to work for me in May, and what a wonderful gift she has been to me and to River Place. There is a lot of behind-the-scenes work that goes into running a successful quilt shop (or any independent business), and knowing Nina is taking wonderful care of our customers helps me tremendously when I have to be in the office planning events, budgeting, ordering, paying bills, studying new trends and products, answering phone calls, meeting with vendors, researching classes, finding instructors, and much, much more. Thank you, Nina — and thank you to all our customers who have so graciously welcomed her to River Place.

We celebrated our seventh anniversary in July, participated in the Quilt’n Quisine bus trip in August (and yes, we are busy planning this year’s event!), and I attended the Checker Open House (my primary vendor) and Janome Institute at the end of August.

September brought the Quilter’s Showcase in Birch Run – another successful show, and one in which we will participate in 2014. In October, I attended Quilt Market for the first time. You better believe, I won’t miss another one if I can help it! Attending Quilt Market was one of my goals for 2013, and I am happy to say that goal was met!

We put on our first Anita Goodesign Workshop in November, held our annual Christmas Open House, and then managed a successful Stuff Your Stocking event in December.

In all, 2013 was a very busy year, and 2014 is shaping up to be the same. I look forward to seeing you, sharing new-found fabrics, items, and knowledge, and learning from you!

February

4 responses to “Merry, Merry Christmas, and Happy 2014!!

  1. Yay! You’re back! I’ve missed your blogs!!!
    Congratulations on a successful year! You rock!

  2. It seems you had quite the year! I am really looking forward to the day I can actually get to your shop. Love your emails!

  3. Thanks, Sharon. I look forward to meeting you!

Leave a Reply

