Margaret’s Monday Mash-Ups – 1/21/13


Thank you to all of you who came out to celebrate my birthday last week. It was a good week at River Place. Our Clearance Area still has fabric at $5 per yard, patterns at $4.50 each or 3/$12, and all other items (including kits) at 50% off. These specials apply to all items in the Clearance Area. Visit soon!

Today was my first “real” Monday off. I stayed home all day (except for a quick run to CVS this evening). It felt good to do things around the house. I cleaned and rearranged my sewing room in my never-ending quest to have the perfect layout. I read for a while. I paid bills (ugh! never fun!!!), and did laundry. I cooked dinner. And I still felt relaxed. It was wonderful. Closing the store on Mondays might be the most brilliant idea I’ve ever had. Oh, wait. It wasn’t my idea. Thank you, Kelley!!!

In honor of Visit Your Local Quilt Shop Day, River Place Quilt & Sew will hold an all-day sew on Thursday, January 24, beginning at 10:30 a.m. and running until 8:00 p.m. There is no cost for this event. We will order lunch (your cost), or you may bring your own. We will supply coffee, tea, and water. Every person attending the all-day sew will receive a free pattern and fat quarter.

Casserole Quilt/Cozy, Saturday, January 26, 2013 10a-12:30p
Taught by Brenda, who says:
     Are you like me? Another holiday season has come and gone and once again I failed to make myself a casserole cozy to transport my hot dishes to the holiday parties. Join Brenda and alleviate this problem once and for all and we’ll check this project off our “TO DO” list – finally!
We will combine a basic 9-patch design and the Snowball pattern to make this creative insulating casserole wrap. This patchwork “quilt” is suited for 8″, 9″, and 9″ x 13″ casserole dishes. It keeps hot foods hot and cold foods cold for travel, and then unfolds to serve as a padded table mat with pockets. NOTE: There is pre-class prep!!
Class fee is $25 plus supplies. Enrollment is limited – register today!

Have a great week – I’ll see you, I’m sure. 😉

Leave a Reply

