Tips and Techniques Tuesdays – 12/11/12


Wow. Today’s tip comes courtesy of none other than . . . me! The tip is this: Always, Always, ALWAYS check one more time before you hit the Start button on your embroidery machine.

No, I didn’t use the wrong hoop. I had the right foot on the machine. My thread color was perfect. All the pieces for my in-the-hoop project were cut, pressed, stacked, and ready to go. So, what did I do wrong?

I had a purchased design from Moose B Stitchin (I love their projects!). I had already made one of the cases. I needed a bigger case, so I enlarged it to 120% on my Janome Memory Craft 12000 (after transferring it from my computer via Horizon Link). I stitched it out, and the size was perfect! I had to cut my pieces a bit longer, but otherwise, it was all good.

Last night, I started another case – the larger size is what I needed. I transferred the design to the sewing machine via Horizon Link, and entered the Edit screen. Here’s where I went wrong. I didn’t realize I hit the COPY button. Didn’t notice at all! I enlarged the design, and started the machine.

As I watched it stitch, placing the next fabric pieces as they were needed, I kept thinking – vaguely, of course, or I would have figured it out sooner! – that the case seemed smaller than it should be. By the time I started the last color change, I knew the case was too small. I just couldn’t figure out why. I knew I enlarged it to 120%. How could it be too small?

Guess what? I did enlarge it. But I only sewed the first part, which was the original case, which I somehow accidentally copied. I unhooped the case after the last stitch outline, not even paying attention to the fact that there were more color changes on the screen. When I finally saw them (after puzzling over the smaller case while trimming it), it hit me. I must have copied the design before enlarging it, so the extremely intelligent computer in my embroidery machine was going to sew the larger case, as soon as I pushed the buttons!

Sigh. It was too late to stitch out another last night, so that’s a task for today. Once again, the moral is — Always double-check EVERYthing.

Enjoy your day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

