Thirsting for Knowledge Thursdays – 4/19/12


Stitch-in-the-ditch quilting is our topic today. My favorite way to stitch-in-the-ditch is to keep my needle on the “lower” side of the seam. By “lower” side, I mean the side that does not have seam allowance behind it. Look at your pieced block. Follow one seam. If pressed properly, your seam allowance was pressed to one side of the seam, and that side of the seam is a bit higher than the side without the seam allowance behind it. Take some time now to look – do you see what I mean?

OK, now that you understand that, adjust the stitch length on your machine. You want your quilting stitches to be longer than your regular piecing stitches. I usually increase my stitch length to 3.0 when I’m stitching-in-the-ditch. I match the thread color to the color of the fabric, or use a neutral color. The thread almost disappears into the seam when I am stitching straight and paying attention to what I’m doing.

The next project I stitch-in-the-ditch on, I plan to try Wonderfil’s Invisafil thread. It’s a 100-weight thread that I’ve already used for machine applique work (it looks like it was hand-stitched). I’m not a fan of clear, or “invisible” thread, so the Invisafil is my choice. We sell this thread for $12 a spool – there are 2500m on each spool. We also carry smaller spools in variety packs – six spools of 400m each – for $18.

Enjoy the sunshine!!

Leave a Reply

