Tips and Techniques Tuesday – 12/6/11


I was sewing last night, and noticed my machine was making a bit of a clunking noise. Hmm. What could it be? It was a simple fix. I needed a new needle – the old one had become dull. Did you know, it is recommended that we change the needle in our machine every time we start a new project? That’s difficult, though. How many of us start ONE project and sew until it’s finished before starting another? If you do, be sure to comment, because I just don’t think there are many of you out there. So . . . how often should we change the needle? Probably every 8-10 hours of sewing. Although, obviously, I’m guilty of waiting until the needle pretty much TELLS me it’s time to change it. 😉

3 responses to “Tips and Techniques Tuesday – 12/6/11

  1. Guilty as charged! I think about it, but then forget when I start the next project! I did change my needle yesterday.

  2. Whoops! I do the same thing. When my machine makes a popping sound and I know I need to change needles! Now if only I could figure out why it’s squeaking…

  3. The only time I remember to change the needle is if i was sewing something heavy like jeans. I’m guilty too.

Leave a Reply

